GJ-Bu sequel announced!

Excellent news today! GJ-bu has been greenlit for a sequel.

GJ-bu was a pleasant surprise for many viewers when it debuted last Winter. Feel free to check out my review if you’re curious. It was pretty excellent.

EveTaku-GJ-bu-12-END-1280x720-x264-Hi10P-AAC3DCA432F.mkv_snapshot_11.23_2013.04.09_21.57.52

I missed it too.

At the time of writing there is not a whole heap of information available, although more will show up soon…. this won’t stop me from speculating though. I think we’ll see either a combination of previous characters mixed in with the Imoutos – or a more Imouto-focused show that might be more closely based on the light novel spin-off “GJ-bu Chutobu”. I haven’t read this but I understand that it follows Kasumi as she starts a similar club with her friends Seira + Geraldine (and maybe a few others). Even though the orignal cast are super charming – I’d be excited to see a couple of new characters thrown in the mix.

If I remember correctly, Mao, Kirara and Shion graduated last season – so we’ll probably be seeing less of them this time round. They were all popular characters though so I doubt they’ll be totally omitted. Maybe they’ll show up one time and talk about college? Or, in Mao’s case, just bite Kyolo. Who knows. I hope Kyolo, Tama, and Megumi get a little screen time, but I’d be equally happy to see Kasumi and her friends take over as the main characters.

I don’t think the producers can really go wrong when it comes to this sequel. There are a bunch of directive options and they all have the potential to shine. I’m looking forward to see how it all turns out. What are your thoughts on this announcement?

1375930582196

ALL HAIL ORE-MAN

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GJ-Bu sequel announced!

  1. I just worry GJ-bu won’t be the same without the upperclassmen. I hope Kyoro and Megumi can carry the show, but the kids were nowhere near as fun as the high-schoolers, imo.

    • You’re right, they had a pretty sweet cast set up so to bring in the younger sisters presents quite a challenge.

      I think it will be different… but I have confidence they can pull it off and create something neat once again. We’ll have to wait and see though.

Leave a Reply

